Workspace Preferences allow you to easily manage your workspaces. This article will show the preference options that you can set up according to your project requirements and how to access them.
How do I access my workspace preferences?
- Hover over the workspace title to expand the menu options
- Select on the 3 dotted menu
- Select Workspace Preferences
Accessing the Workspace Preferences
The description section allows you to define your project with a summary of your workspace. Simply select inside the description text box to fill in the relevant information.
If this workspace has been shared with other collaborators, they will also be able to view the description once they access the Workspace Preferences, allowing your collaborators to get a basic understanding about what the workspace represents.
You can now add any relevant tags about your project by separating them with a comma as shown below.
How to add tags to your workspace
Workspace Status is a great way to keep track of your project progress. With Creately workspace statuses you can mark your workspace as a Draft, In Progress, In Review, Approved, Final, or Archived to organize and manage them better.
Other team collaborators that the workspace is shared with can not only view the status next to the workspace title or in the folder overview, but they can also change the status as required from their end which will be reflected immediately.
How to change the Workspace Status
You can also view the status of your workspace or of one that has been shared with you within the folder as shown below.
Grid & Guides
The Grid & Guides preferences provide 4 options that can be enabled or disabled according to your requirement to simplify working on more complex visual structures.
Below is the list of options available:
The Show Grid feature allows you to see a grid on your workspace background, making it easier to design and move around and arrange visual elements such as shapes, icons and more. The Grid feature is set as default in your workspace, therefore if you prefer to work without this feature, you can disable it from the workspace preferences as shown below.
Enable or Disable Show Grid
Snap to Grid
The snap to grid feature allows you to move your shapes or other elements within your workspace by snapping them towards the next grid in the direction of your choice.
It is useful when you are working with complex visual structures with multiple shapes that need to be well-aligned. However, if you prefer to work with a smoother flow of movement, you can simply disable this setting from the workspace preferences.
Enable or Disable Snap to Grid setting
Enabling the Show Guides option will help with aligning, arranging and accurate placements of your shapes when creating a visual structure or diagram.
Horizontal and vertical guidelines will appear across the workspace when you move your shapes around. This will easily allow you to know if you are aligning your shapes neatly.
Snap to Guides
The Snap to Guides option allows shapes to automatically align with the nearest shapes in the workspace.