Sharing folders lets you invite a number of editors and reviewers to collaborate, Here's how to share a folder
- Add Collaborators
- Folder sharing permission
- Remove Collaborators
- Change Collaborator Role
Note: You can’t share Home folder and the folders that are shared as view only
Add Collaborators to a Folder
You can add a collaborator from the folder panel with these simple steps.
- Click on the folder icon from the panel
- Navigate to the folder you would like to share/collaborate
- Click the Share option from the drop-down menu (as shown in the GIF)
- Start adding email addresses of the collaborators you want to invite
Sharing and Adding Collaborators
Adding collaborators to a folder gives them permission to view or edit documents inside that folder. The permission applies to the following methods.
As an Editor, you can,
- Create a new document in the folder
- Add new collaborators in the folder
- Remove any existing collaborators in the folder
- Change collaborator role of self and other collaborators - From Editor to Reviewer and vice versa.
- View and edit documents
- Add and Delete comments
- Duplicate any shared documents
Adding Editors and Reviewers
As a Reviewer, you can,
- View any shared documents
- View comments in a document
- Add Comments
Folder Sharing Permission
You can either share a folder with specific users by adding their email addresses or with anyone in the team.
1. Anyone at your company/organization
You can share a folder by selecting the option "Anyone at [YourOrganizationName]" as shown in the image below. This lets anyone who's added to your Creately Team plan in the organization access the folder. For instance, a user with **@abccompany.com** domain is able to discover the folder if they're in a team plan. You can set the permission to view only or edit only from the menu.
2. Specific Users
You can add the email addresses of the people you would like to share the folder and they will be able to access with a view or edit permission.
Share with Specific Users or with the Team
Q: How do I know if a Folder is shared with me?
A: Shared folder will be added to the list of folders and you can access them in the folder panel. Here's How to access documents and folders?
Remove collaborators from a Folder
You can remove a collaborator by opening the shared folder from the folder panel and clicking the Delete in front of the collaborator you would like to remove.
Remove Collaborators from a Folder
By removing, the collaborator will lose the following capabilities in a folder.
- Automatically removed from accessing the documents within the folder - Will no longer have access to edit or view documents.
- Folders will not be accessible and/or visible from the list of folders in the folder panel.
Change collaborator role on a Folder
You can change a collaborator’s role from Editor to Reviewer and vice versa.
- Open the shared folder from the folder panel
- Select the current role of the collaborator
- You can then be able to switch the role from the drop-down menu - Editor or Reviewer
Change Collaborator Role
- Changing the role in a folder will also change the role of documents in the folder as well.
- Automatically changes the privacy level of all documents in the shared folder - Applies different privacy level for Editors and Reviewers.