Creately follows a natural trust-based philosophy on user access control allowing a high level of flexibility within trusted user circles.
Two sets of user permissions exist within Creately allowing application permission management and workspace/folder permission management. These allow independent user access management and workspace content management.
Account management and permissions
Account management allows an account admin to assign rights to use the purchased Creately licenses. Within a Team account, the Owner is responsible for allowing users to access Creately by providing access to Creately premium, managing billing and handling upgrades and downgrades. The admin roles for a Creately Team account do not affect the permissions associated with workspaces created within Creately by team members. It is possible to have workspaces that are created by a team member of the account not be visible to the account admins, owners or other members. This allows for separation of concerns allowing confidential content to be shared on a need to know basis.
User permissions within the account
Folder and Workspace permissions overview
Creately’s workspace and folder permissions are separate from Account roles. Every person who is a premium plan user in Creately has equal status when using the application.
Folders and workspaces are shared within Creately by the owner of the workspace or folder, or previously added collaborators with others to allow editing of the content and it is assumed that the new party is fully trusted with the content. The new collaborator is allowed to add further collaborators as well as manage sharing.
View only mode for Creately content is allowed via unique links that do not require Creately accounts.
Creately Folders are collections of workspaces that can have common sharing settings applied to all workspaces inside the folder. Each workspace inside the folder will inherit the sharing settings of the folder and can extend its own sharing settings beyond the folder's baseline settings.
The creator of a workspace is considered the Workspace owner and cannot be changed afterwards. Sharing of the workspace with others allows them to modify the content, properties and sharing settings of workspaces.
The shared users may be from within the team plan or any other user that can create an account on Creately.com.